jump to navigation

The Audacity of Hope October 11, 2009

Posted by Sean Welsh in reviews.
trackback

Finished reading President Obama’s book, The Audacity of Hope, written when he was a Senator. I must say I love Mr Obama’s oratory. He certainly has “the golden tongue” and this shows in his writing. He also has a very centrist and even-handed approach in how he tackles issues. You won’t find him blowing hard stating only one side of the argument. He will weigh the pros and cons, often very succinctly, before arriving at a conclusion. He seems a very fair-minded person. He does have the ability to land a punch though. I found this passage hilarious. (To get it you have to appreciate that Ann Coulter and Sean Hannity are political commentators in the US.)

Quoth Obama:

My wife will tell you that by nature I am not somebody who gets real worked up about things. When I see Ann Coulter or Sean Hannity baying across the television screen, I find it hard to take them seriously; I assume they must be saying what they do primarily to boost book sales or ratings, although I do wonder who would spend their precious evenings with such sourpusses. When Democrats rush up to me at events and insist that we live in the worst of political times, that a creeping fascism is closing its grip around our throats, I may mention the internment of Japanese Americans under FDR, the Alien and Sedition Acts under John Adams, or a hundred years of lynching under several dozen administrations as having been possibly worse. When people at dinner parties tell me how can I possibly operate in the current political environment, with all the negative campaigning and personal attacks, I may mention Nelson Mandela, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. or some guy in a Chinese or Egyptian prison somewhere. In truth, being called names is not such a bad deal.

Reading the book, one is often struck by the composure and balance displayed especially when discussing highly emotive issues such as abortion and capital punishment. Highly recommended.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

